Skip to content

2017 Patterson Copyright Award Winner: Jonathan Band

Jonathan Band, recipient of the 2017 Patterson Award

We are pleased to announce that Jonathan Band is the 2017 recipient of the L. Ray Patterson Copyright Award. The award recognizes contributions of an individual or group that pursues and supports the Constitutional purpose of the U.S. copyright law, fair use and the public domain.

ALA President James Neal had this to say:

“Jonathan Band has guided the library community over two decades through the challenges of the copyright legal and legislative battles,” said. “His deep understanding of our community and the needs of our users, in combination with his remarkable knowledge and supportive style, has raised our understanding of copyright and our commitment to balanced interpretations and applications of the law. The 2017 L. Ray Patterson Copyright Award appropriately celebrates Jonathan’s leadership, counsel and dedication.”

Band, a copyright attorney at policybandwidth and adjunct professor at Georgetown Law School, has represented libraries and technology associations before Congress, the Executive Branch and the Judicial Branch and has written public comments, testimony, amicus briefs, and countless statements supporting balanced copyright. Band’s amicus brief on behalf of the Library Copyright Alliance was quoted in the landmark Kirstaeng v. Wiley case, where the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the first sale doctrine applied to books printed abroad, enabling libraries to buy and lend books manufactured overseas. He also represented libraries throughout the Authors Guild v. Google litigation, whose ruling advanced the concept of transformative fair use. Band’s Google Book Settlement/Litigation flow chart, developed to explain the complexity of the case to the public, is widely cited and used worldwide.

The scope of Band’s work extends internationally as well. He has argued for balanced provisions in international trade agreements, including the Trans-Pacific Partnership, and treaties that protect users’ rights and the open internet. He represented U.S. libraries at the World Intellectual Property Organization, which after several years of negotiation adopted the Marrakesh Treaty, mandating enactment of copyright exceptions permitting the making of accessible format copies for print disabled people to help address the worldwide book famine.

ALA Washington Office Executive Director Emily Sheketoff, Jonathan Band, Brandon Butler and Mary Rasenberger.
(Left to right) Former ALA Washington Office Executive Director Emily Sheketoff, Jonathan Band, Brandon Butler and Mary Rasenberger.

Mr. Band has written extensively on intellectual property and electronic commerce matters, including several books and over 100 articles. He has been quoted as an authority on intellectual property and internet matters in numerous publications, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, USA Today and Forbes, and has been interviewed on National Public Radio, MSNBC and CNN.

The Patterson Award will be presented to Band by ALA President Jim Neal at a reception in Washington, D.C., in October. Several members of the D.C.-based technology policy community also will provide comments on Band’s influential career in advocating for balanced copyright policy.

The following two tabs change content below.

Carrie Russell

Carrie Russell is the director of the Program on Public Access to Information in the Washington Office. Her portfolio includes copyright, international copyright, accessibility, e-books, and other public policy issues. She has an MLIS from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and an MA in media arts from the University of Arizona.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *