Skip to content

OITP Director appointed to University of Maryland Advisory Board

This week, the College of Information Studies at the University of Maryland appointed Alan Inouye, director of the American Library Association’s (ALA) Office for Information Technology Policy (OITP), to the inaugural Advisory Board for the university’s Master of Library Science (MLS) degree program.

“This appointment supports OITP’s policy advocacy and its Policy Revolution! initiative,” said OITP Director Alan S. Inouye. “Future librarians will be working in a rapidly evolving information environment. I look forward to the opportunity to help articulate the professional education needed for success in the future.”

The Advisory Board comprises of 17 leaders and students in the information professions who will guide the future development of the university’s MLS program. The Board’s first task will be to engage in a strategic “re-envisioning the MLS” discussion.

Serving three-year terms, the members of the Board will:

  • Provide insights on how the MLS program can enhance the impact of its services on various stakeholder groups;
  • Provide advice and counsel on strategy, issues, and trends affecting the future of the MLS Program;
  • Strengthen relationships with libraries, archives, industry, and other key information community partners;
  • Provide input for assessing the progress of the MLS program;
  • Provide a vital link to the community of practice for faculty and students to facilitate research, inform teaching, and further develop public service skills;
  • Support the fundraising efforts to support the MLS program; and
  • Identify the necessary entry-level skills, attitudes and knowledge competencies as well as performance levels for target occupations.

Additional Advisory Board Members include:

  • Tahirah Akbar-Williams, Education and Information Studies Librarian, McKeldin Library, University of Maryland
  • Brenda Anderson, Elementary Integrated Curriculum Specialist, Montgomery County Public Schools
  • R. Joseph Anderson, Director, Niels Bohr Library and Archives, American Institute of Physics
  • Jay Bansbach, Program Specialist, School Libraries, Instructional Technology and School Libraries, Division of Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability, Maryland State Department of Education
  • Sue Baughman, Deputy Executive Director, Association of Research Libraries
  • Valerie Gross, President and CEO, Howard County Public Library
  • Lucy Holman, Director, Langsdale Library, University of Baltimore
  • Naomi House, Founder, I Need a Library Job (INALJ)
  • Erica Karmes Jesonis, Chief Librarian for Information Management, Cecil County Public Library
  • Irene Padilla, Assistant State Superintendent for Library Development and Services, Maryland State Department of Education
  • Katherine Simpson, Director of Strategy and Communication American University Library
  • Lissa Snyders, MLS Candidate, University of Maryland iSchool
  • Pat Steele, Dean of Libraries, University of Maryland
  • Maureen Sullivan, Immediate Past President, American Library Association
  • Joe Thompson, Senior Administrator, Public Services, Harford County Public Library
  • Paul Wester, Chief Records Officer for the Federal Government, National Archives and Records Administration
The following two tabs change content below.

Jazzy Wright

Jazzy Wright is a former press officer of the Washington Office.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *