Skip to content

National Medal Deadline Extended Due to the Shutdown

421Think your favorite library provides exceptional service? Now’s your chance to nominate your library for a $5,000 award. Library supporters now have the opportunity nominate their libraries for the 2014 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor for exemplary service by museums and libraries. The award nomination deadline ends on October 31, 2013 (the original deadline has been extended due to the federal government shutdown).

The National Medal honors libraries and museums that make civic, educational, economic, environmental and social contributions. All types of nonprofit libraries, including public, school, academic, research, and archival, are eligible to receive this honor. Medal winners receive a $5,000 award and are honored at a National Medal award ceremony held in Washington, D.C.

Get more information and access the nomination form. A complete application will include a five-page, single-spaced narrative; financial statements for the past two fiscal years; and up to three letters of support. These nominating materials are reviewed by members of the National Museum and Library Services Board, a presidentially appointed policy advisory board of the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Based on their recommendations, the IMLS Director selects the final winners.

IMLS will continue to accept hard-copy applications despite the government shutdown. Questions about the award should be directed to Michele Farrell, senior program officer for libraries, at

The following two tabs change content below.

Jazzy Wright

Jazzy Wright is a former press officer of the Washington Office.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *