Skip to content

IMLS holds ceremony for new members of the National Museum and Library Services Board

Contact: Jenni Terry
Press Officer
ALA Washington Office
(202) 628-8410 

For Immediate Release
October 18, 2010 

Washington, D.C. — The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) today held the Oath of Office Ceremony for the new members of the National Museum and Library Services Board. The ceremony was officiated by the Honorable David S. Ferriero Archivist of the United States. 

In June, IMLS announced the Senate confirmation of six individuals to serve on the National Museum and Library Services Board, which advises the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) on general policy and practices and on selections for the National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The board is comprised of the IMLS director and deputy directors and 20 members of the general public with demonstrated expertise and commitment to libraries or museums. 

New board members include Dr. Carla Hayden, a past president of the American Library Association (ALA) and the current chief executive officer of the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Md.; Winston Tabb, the Sheridan Dean of University Libraries and Museums at the Johns Hopkins University and former associate librarian at the Library of Congress; Robert Wedgeworth, the founding president of ProLiteracy Worldwide and former Executive Director of the ALA; Mary Minow, an attorney, consultant, and a former librarian and library trustee who edits the Stanford Copyright & Fair Use website; John Coppola, who has consulted on strategic planning and professional training for museums throughout Latin America and the Middle East since 1996; and Dr. Lawrence J. Pijeaux, Jr., president and CEO of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute.

ALA President Roberta Stevens said she looks forward to the vision and experience the new members, especially those with strong ties to the ALA, will bring to the board. 

“This board continues to be strengthened by members who bring rich library backgrounds,” Stevens said. 

“The ALA congratulates the new members of the National Museum and Library Services Board, and we anticipate all they will accomplish for the betterment of our nation’s libraries through their service.”  

The following two tabs change content below.

One Comment

  1. Richard Moore Richard Moore

    No photos? Wouldn’t it be nice to have a photo of the new folks?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *