Skip to content

The Institute of Museums and Library Services Invites Nominations for the The National Medal for Museum and Library Service

The National Medal for Museum and Library Service (formerly the National Award) is a National Initiative of the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), which honors outstanding institutions that make significant and exceptional contributions to their communities. Selected institutions demonstrate extraordinary and innovative approaches to public service, exceeding the expected levels of community outreach and core programs generally associated with its services. The medal includes prizes of $10,000 to each recipient and an awards ceremony to be held in Washington, DC.

Qualifications and Criteria for Selection The main qualification for selection is community service, as demonstrated by the institution’s ongoing commitment, at every level, to its community.

Nominations should describe:

  • The institution’s goals in serving its community.
  • The population served.
  • How the institution works together with the community to achieve the goals.
  • The outcome of this effort during the past two to three years.
  • How the institution will sustain these efforts in the future.

The National Museum and Library Services Board reviews the nominations and makes recommendations to the IMLS Director, who makes the final selection.

FY 2009 Deadline: February 17, 2009

LearnĀ  more about the National Medal for Museum and Library Service.

The following two tabs change content below.
Jacob Roberts is the communications specialist for the ALA Washington Office.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *