Skip to content

IMMEDIATE ACTION NEEDED: Contact Your Members of Congress and Ask Them to Support Federal Funding for America’s Libraries!

This is the last opportunity to increase federal funding for libraries! The deadline is today at noon!

We currently have 45 signatures. 5 more signatures would make a huge difference. Please contact your Members of Congress immediately and ask them to sign the “Dear Colleague” letters being circulated in the House and Senate in support of funding for the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) and the Improving Literacy Through School Libraries Program.

The Senate letter was started by Senators Jack Reed (D-RI) and Susan Collins (R-ME) and is addressed to the Senate Labor, Health and Human Services and Education Appropriation Subcommittees and requests that the Senate include President Bush’s request of $214.432 million for LSTA and increased funding for the Improving Literary Through School Libraries program for fiscal year (FY) 2009.

When you contact your Senator, you must ask him or her to call Elyse with Senator Reed or Nikki with Senator Collins, in order to co-sign the letter. DO NOT CALL Elyse or Nikki directly.

Current signers include:

Daniel Akaka (D-HI)
Max Baucus (D-MT)

Joe Biden (D-DE)

Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)
Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Richard Burr (R-NC)
Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Robert Casey (D-PA)
Hillary Clinton (D- NY)

Norm Coleman (R-MN)

Susan Collins (R-ME)
Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Christopher Dodd (D-CT)
Elizabeth Dole (R-NC)
Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Russ Feingold (D-WI)
Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Ted Kennedy (D-MA)
John Kerry (D-MA)
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Herbert Kohl (D-WI)
Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Carl Levin (D-MI)
Joe Lieberman (I-CT)
Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)
Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)

Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Barack Obama (D-IL)
Mark Pryor (D-AR)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
John Rockefeller (D-WV)

Ken Salazar (D-CO)
Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Gordon Smith (R-OR)
Olympia Snowe (R-ME)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
John Sununu (R-NH)
Jon Tester (D-MT)

Jim Webb (D-VA)
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)

In comparison, last year’s signers included: Sens. Akaka, Baucus, Bayh, Biden, Nelson (Bill), Bingaman, Boxer, Brown, Burr, Cantwell, Cardin, Carper, Casey, Clinton, Collins, Dodd, Durbin, Feingold, Feinstein, Kennedy, Kerry, Klobuchar, Kohl, Landrieu, Leahy, Levin, Lieberman, Lincoln, McCaskill, Menendez, Mikulski, Obama, Pryor, Reed, Rockefeller, Sanders, Schumer, Smith, (Gordon), Snowe, Stabenow, Sununu, Tester, Whitehouse, and Wyden.

The following two tabs change content below.
Jacob Roberts is the communications specialist for the ALA Washington Office.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *