Skip to content

Letter from Alan Inouye on OITP Changes

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to provide you with an update on organizational changes in OITP. The need for changes was identified and discussed last fall at the retreat of our advisory committee. Based on the discussions at the retreat and subsequent work, a strategic plan was developed. At the 2008 Midwinter Conference, this plan was endorsed by the OITP Advisory Committee and, consequently, the reorganization of OITP is now underway.

We are in the process of implementing a new structure for OITP based on four programs. The large majority of existing activity is being incorporated into the Program on Public Access to Information and the Program on Networks. This new structure will provide an improved organizational basis for addressing topics beyond copyright and Internet policy (previously, the two major categories).

We’ve also created the OITP Fellows Program as a mechanism for increasing our access to leading thinkers in the library and allied communities. Finally, we’re in the process of creating the Program on America’s Libraries in the 21st Century to explore future directions in libraries, technology, and society in a systematic way, and to provide the basis for proactive action by our community — to help us shape our own future.

As an integral part of this reorganization, new job titles were created for Carrie Lowe and Carrie Russell to correspond to the new programs. Carrie Lowe is now Director, Program on Networks and Carrie Russell is now Director, Program on Public Access to Information. For Carrie Lowe, this change also represents a promotion to recognize her accomplishments in the past year and her increasing responsibilities as formalized in the new program structure.


Alan Inouye, Ph.D.
Director, Office for Information Technology Policy
American Library Association

The following two tabs change content below.

Alan Inouye

Alan S. Inouye is the director of ALA's Office for Information Technology Policy. Previously, he was the coordinator of the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee in the Executive Office of the President and a study director at the National Academy of Sciences. Alan completed his Ph.D. at the University of California at Berkeley.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *