Join free Edge webinar on assistive technology

Edge LogoDoes your library provide assistive technology for patrons who are blind or have low vision? Or is this a goal for the near future? Join the Edge team in a webinar to learn from the Itasca Community Library (IL), which provides special technology, services, materials and equipment for patrons with vision impairments. With generous support from their local Lions Club, a Vision Center was created in the library.

This free one-hour session will be held November 20 at 11 AM Pacific/Noon Mountain/1 PM Central/2 PM Eastern time. The webinar features Adult Services Librarian Soon Har Tan discussing special technology, services, materials and training the library provides for patrons with vision impairments. We’ll also be joined by Tom Perski, senior vice president/rehabilitation services for The Chicago Lighthouse. He assisted Soon Har with planning the Vision Center. Register now

This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative benchmarks. Benchmark 11 states: “Libraries ensure participation in digital technology for people with disabilities.” Edge is a voluntary assessment program that provides libraries with benchmarks, best practices, tools and resources that support continuous improvement and reinvestment in public technology services. Edge helps libraries connect their services to community priorities. Edge will be available to public libraries nationwide in January 2014.

Jazzy Wright is the Press Officer of the American Library Association's Washington Office. Email her at jwright@alawash.org.

Posted in OITP, Public Libraries, Webinars Tagged with: , ,
Add Comment Register



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Categories

Sign up today!
Advocate for America's libraries!
E-Content: the official blog for ALA's Digital Content Working Group
Complete Copyright: The new copyright guide for k-12 librarians and educators