Counting on Advocates: Illinois Advocate Mary Ann Bretzlauf Awarded for Library Leadership

(left to right) Maureen Sullivan, Mary Ann Bretzlauf, and advocates RoseEllen Reynolds Joan Reeves.

(left to right) Maureen Sullivan, Mary Ann Bretzlauf, and advocates RoseEllen Reynolds Joan Reeves.

Today, library advocate Mary Ann Bretzlauf, of Gurnee, Ill., received the American Library Association’s White House Conference on Library and Information Services Taskforce Award for her commitment to supporting national libraries.

Libraries are great equalizers–if they remain fairly funded.

Bretzlauf received the award during the association’s 39th Annual National Library Legislative Day in Washington, D.C. A strong and tireless advocate for libraries, Bretzlauf has served as the vice president of the Warren-Newport Public Library’s Board of Trustees for the past two years.

Working as a community college English teacher at the College of Lake County, Bretzlauf was one of the first faculty members to embed reference librarians in online composition classes.

“Libraries are great equalizers–if they remain fairly funded,” said Bretzlauf. “Part of good government means fair and consistent funding for our libraries.”

The WHCLIST Award bestows library advocates a stipend to travel to the D.C. event to participate in National Library Legislative Day, the annual event when hundreds of library champions from across the country converge in Washington to meet with members of Congress to discuss key library issues.

ALA President Maureen Sullivan personally presented the award to Bretzlauf during the opening event.

For photos of the event, go to To learn more about the award, go to

About Jazzy Wright

Jazzy Wright is the Press Officer of the American Library Association's Washington Office. Email her at

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>