ALA holds James Madision Award ceremony

The American Library Association (ALA) today held an award ceremony for this year’s winner of the James Madison Award, Thomas M. Susman, the director of the American Bar Association’s (ABA) Government Affairs Office.  The event was held during the Freedom Forum’s 11th Annual National FOI Day Conference in the Newseum’s Knight Conference Center in Washington, DC.

Nancy Kranich, past president of the ALA, presented the award. Her remarks can be viewed here.

The James Madison Award, named in honor of President James Madison, was established by the ALA in 1986 to honor individuals or groups who have championed, protected and promoted public access to government information and the public’s “right to know” on the national level.

About Jenni Terry

Jenni Terry was a press officer with the Washington Office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *